Home Insurance Requirements
Insurance Requirements PDF Print E-mail

Insurance requirements within North Carolina require that you provide proof of insurance when registering your vehicle.

Acceptable proofs of insurance include:

  • Owner provides insurance company name and policy number
  • Or, a certificate of Insurance (FS-1), obtained from an insurance company that is licensed to do business in North Carolina

Minimum Liability Insurance Requirements for Licensing:

The minimum requirements of liability insurance for a private passenger vehicle is $30,000 for bodily injury for one person; $60,000 bodily injury for two or more people and $25,000 property damage.

North Carolina law requires insurance companies to notify DMV when coverage has been cancelled.

 
Copyright © 2017 Asheville License Tag Office. All Rights Reserved.

Every effort has been made to reproduce the information on this web site as accurately as possible and to keep it as current as possible. However, this information is presented for reference purposes only. The official information may be found at NCDOT Division of Motor Vehicles website.
 

Google Translator

Personalized/Specialty License Plates:

Click on one of the following samples to view all available specialty and personalized license plates that can be ordered through the N.C. Department of Motor Vehicles website or by visiting our office.
Banner
Friends of the Smokies Special License Plate
State Parks Special License Plate